The ELE Royal Mental Health - Care & Research Santé mentale - Soins et recherche		yal	NOTICE OF MEETING NEW OFFICERS' MEETING ROYAL OTTAWA HEALTH CARE GROUP BOARD OF TRUSTEES June 18, 2020 (immediately following AGM) via Zoom (details in calendar)		 Oral presentation Paper enclosed Paper to follow Paper at meeting Information DEC Decision required ** Guidance required 	
	BOARD VISION TO BE THE CATALYST FOR IMPROVING MENTAL HEALTH CARE SYSTEM-WIDE THROUGH BOA EXCELLENCE This vision will be accomplished by the Board of Trustees focusing on five key areas that will define the Bo value and contribution to The Royal: • Culture, Stakeholder Engagement and Focus, Innovation, Board Processes and Stewardship			define the Board's		
#	ITEM		REFERENCE	RESPONSIBILITY		STATUS
1.	1. CALL TO ORDER			A. Graham	0	IN
2.	2. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING				•	DEC
3.	3. ELECTION OF OFFICERS			A. Graham	•	DEC
4.	4. COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP			A. Graham	•	DEC
5. NEXT MEETING		TING	June 24, 2021 at 3:30 p.m.	·		
6. ADJOURNMENT		MENT			•	DEC

Joanne Bezzubetz, Secretary, ROHCG Board of Trustees

RSVP to patricia.robb@theroyal.ca

ROYAL OTTAWA HEALTH CARE GROUP

BOARD APPROVAL REQUEST

Motion Number: 2019-2020 – 1 NO

Priority: Important

DATE:	June 18, 2020
COMMITTEE:	New Officers' Meeting
PRESENTER:	A. Graham
SUBJECT:	Approval of Previous Minutes

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

LEGAL REVIEW AND/OR APPROVAL:

MOTION FOR APPROVAL:

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the New Officers' meeting minutes from June 20, 2019 be approved as presented.

Moved by:

Seconded by:

Motion approved:



ROYAL OTTAWA HEALTH CARE GROUP BOARD OF TRUSTEES MINUTES OF THE BOARD MEETING HELD June 20, 2019 (immediately following AGM), ROYAL OTTAWA MENTAL HEALTH CENTRE ROOM 1424

Trustees	Present	Regrets	Trustees	Present	Regrets
A. Graham, Acting	Х		L. Leikin	X phone	
S. McLean		Х	D. Somppi	Х	
I. Levy	X phone		R. Anderson	Х	
N. Bhargava	Х		S. Squire	Х	
J. MacRae	Х		J. Bezzubetz	X	
C. Coulter	Х		R. Bhatla		Х
J. Gallant	Х		T. Lau		Х
J. Charette		Х	J. Garrow		Х
L. Gillen		Х			
		Mana	gement Staff		
P. Robb	Х				
			Guests		
C. Clark	Х				
AGENDA ITEMS					ACTION REQUIRED
Call to Order	declared the me		ne meeting to order at n regularly called and pusiness.		
Chair's Opening Remarks					
Governance Committee		Committee reco wa Health Care (mmends the following Group:	serve as Officers	
	Vice Chair: I. Vice Chair: C	Graham Levy Coulter Bezzubetz			
	Moved by D. Sor	mppi and second	ed by S. Squire.		
	BE IT RESOLVED THAT The officers for 2019-2020 be approved as presented.				
Committee	The Governance	Committee reco	mmends the attached	composition on	

AGENDA ITEMS		ACTION REQUIRED
Membership	the Committees of the Board of Trustees:	
	Move by D. Somppi and seconded by J. MacRae.	
	BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Committee membership for 2019-2020 be	
	approved, as presented.	
Adjournment	Move by J. Gallant and seconded by N. Bhargava.	
	BE IT RESOLVED THAT the meeting be adjourned at 7:35 p.m. CARRIED	
A. Graham Acting Chair	J. Bezzubetz Secretary	

ROYAL OTTAWA HEALTH CARE GROUP

BOARD APPROVAL REQUEST

Motion Number: 2019-2020 – 2 NO

Priority: Important

DATE:	June 18, 2020
COMMITTEE:	New Officers' Meeting
PRESENTER:	A. Graham
SUBJECT:	Election of Officers for 2020-2021

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

LEGAL REVIEW AND/OR APPROVAL:

MOTION FOR APPROVAL:

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the officers for 2020-2021 be approved as presented.

Moved by:

Seconded by:

Motion approved:

Page 5 of 9



1145 avenue Carling Avenue Ottawa ON K1Z 7K4 **theroyal.ca / leroyal.ca** 1

Tel. / Tél. 613.722.6521 Toll free / Ligne sans frais 1.800.987.6424

June 18, 2020

Joanne Bezzubetz Secretary of the Board Royal Ottawa Health Care Group 1145 Carling Avenue Ottawa ON K1Z 7K4

Dear Joanne:

As Chair of the Governance Committee of the Board of Trustees, Royal Ottawa Health Care Group, I present the Committee's report with respect to the recommended Board membership for the coming year. I wish to express my sincere thanks to the members of the Governance Committee for their assistance in this important task.

The following Board Members are recommended for re-election for the terms as indicated:

Name	Term length (years)	Appointment
C. Coulter	3	2020-2023
J. Gallant	3	2020-2023
L. Gillen	3	2020-2023
J. MacRae	1	2020-2021

Subsection 12(4) of the *Public Hospitals Act*, which provides as follows:

Despite the *Corporations Act*, a hospital may provide by by-law for the election and retirement of directors in rotation, but in that case no director shall be elected for a term of more than five years and **at least four directors shall retire from office each year**

The elected Trustees shall hold office for a **one, two or three-year term** as may be determined by the Members, on the recommendation of the Governance Committee... (ROHCG Bylaws 3.5.1)

Royal Ottawa Mental Health Centre Centre de santé mentale Royal Ottawa University of Ottawa Institute of Mental Health Research Institut de recherche en santé mentale de l'Université d'Ottawa

Royal Ottawa Foundation for Mental Health Fondation de santé mentale Royal Ottawa

1

Brockville Mental Health Centre Centre de santé mentale Brockville Board membership for 2020-2021 will be as follows:

Members of the Board of Trustees		
Name	Term	Initial Appointment
R. Anderson	2019-2022	2017
N. Bhargava	2019-2022	2016
C. Coulter	2020-2023	2017
J. Gallant	2020-2023	2015
L. Gillen	2020-2023	2016
A. Graham	2020-2022	2010
I. Levy	2019-2021	2012
L. Leikin	2018-2021	2016
J. MacRae	2020-2021	2017
D. Somppi	2019-2022	2016
S. Squire	2019-2022	2017
P. Johnston	2020-2021	2020

***The Chair's term may be extended beyond the nine consecutive year period. (ROHCG Bylaws 3.2.2)

Ex-Officio Trustees:

Past Chair	[Vacant]
J. Bezzubetz	President & CEO and Secretary of the Board
R. Bhatla	Psychiatrist-in-Chief/Chief of Staff
T. Lau	President of Medical Staff
E. Millar	Chief Nursing Executive
J. Nyman	University of Ottawa

Based on provincial legislation, all ex-officio trustees, except the University of Ottawa representative, are *non-voting* Board Members.

The Committee is recommending to the Board that the following serve as Officers of the Royal Ottawa Health Care Group:

Chair:	A. Graham
Vice Chair:	I. Levy
Vice Chair:	C. Coulter
Secretary:	J. Bezzubetz

C. Coulter Chair, Governance Committee Royal Ottawa Health Care Group

ROYAL OTTAWA HEALTH CARE GROUP

BOARD APPROVAL REQUEST

Motion Number: 2019-2020 – 3 NO

Priority: Important

DATE:	June 18, 2020
COMMITTEE:	New Officers' Meeting
PRESENTER:	A. Graham
SUBJECT:	Committee Membership for 2020-2021

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

LEGAL REVIEW AND/OR APPROVAL:

MOTION FOR APPROVAL:

BE IT RESOLVED THAT the Committee membership for 2020-2021 be approved, as presented.

Moved by:

Seconded by:

Motion approved:



2020-2021 Board Committee Membership

Page 9 of 9

